Starkville DUI Attorneys
Preserving the Rights of Defendants in Mississippi
Have you been charged with violating Mississippi law prohibiting driving under the influence (DUI)? If so, you should consult a qualified Starkville DUI lawyer from Vollor Law Firm, P.A.. We are dedicated to preserving your right to a fair trial through results-oriented advocacy with compassion at its core.
Since 2004, we have consistently obtained favorable results for our criminal defense clients, including reductions, dismissals, and acquittals. We can do the same for you. Our distinguished DUI attorneys can guide you through each step of the criminal process.
If you are facing DUI charges, contact us online or call (662) 269-6188 to consult an experienced Starkville DUI attorney from Vollor Law Firm, P.A. today. We proudly serve Vicksburg, Starkville & all of Mississippi.
Mississippi DUI Penalties
Under Mississippi law, it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. Violating this law will result in a minimum $600 fine, a 90-day license suspension and up to 48 hours in jail.
A second DUI offense warrants harsher penalties, including a minimum $250 fine, a 1-year license suspension, and up to 1 year in prison. A successful DUI conviction can remain on your criminal record for up to 5 years.
Subsequent DUI offenses will involve a minimum $2,000 fine, a 1-year license suspension, and up to 5 years in jail. If a 3rd DUI violation results in the serious injury or death of a child, it is considered a felony punishable by up to 25 years in prison.
Defenses to DUI Charges
Our skilled Starkville DUI attorneys will use any means available under the law to minimize the negative impact of a DUI charge on your life.
We will evaluate your case for circumstances that can result in a dismissal or sentence reduction, including:
- Insufficient evidence for reasonable suspicion to stop the defendant
- Defects in administering field sobriety tests (FST)
- Improper administration of portable breath tests (PBT)
- Unlawful police interrogation
- Ignition interlock devices.
“Nonadjudication” is a procedure that provides first-time DUI offenders with some leniency by allowing the court to withhold a finding of guilt, provided the defendant satisfies certain terms and conditions. After completing the program, the court will enter an order of nonadjudication.
A person is eligible for nonadjudication if they complete the following requirements:
- Pay a nonadjudication fee
- Pay all fines imposed for ordinary DUI convictions
- Complete an alcohol safety education program
- Install an ignition interlock device
- Agree to a 180-day license suspension
Call an Experienced DUI Lawyer in Starkville
Unfortunately, people make mistakes. However, don’t let a DUI conviction become a mistake that defines your future. To ensure your right to a fair trial is protected, you should retain the professional services of an experienced DUI attorney in Starkville.
At Vollor Law Firm, P.A., we have more than 25 years of experience practicing criminal law and procedure, including defending DUI charges. You can rely on our skill and knowledge to preserve your due process rights by strenuously advocating for the fair and just application of the law.