Obtaining an Intermediate License
Like most other states, Mississippi allows teen drivers to obtain a learner's permit at the age of 15. After 12 full months, you are eligible to test for an intermediate driver's license. It's important to note that an intermediate driver's license comes with certain restrictions that the young driver has to follow until they are 16 years and six months of age.
Intermediate License Restrictions
As a precautionary measure, the state of Mississippi prohibits those under the age of 16 and six months to drive between the hours of 10:00 PM and 6:00 AM Sunday through Thursday and 11:30 PM and 6:00 AM Friday and Saturday, unless accompanied by someone 21 years or older.
The goal of this provision is safety and preventing unnecessary accidents. It is estimated that 50% of the crashes involving teen drivers happen between 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM. As this is comparative to the statistic involving all drivers, teens are at a disproportionate risk of accidents during this timeframe.
However, these restrictions only apply to those within that specific age range. If you have a learner's permit, are 17 or older in Mississippi, and have never had any kind of driving violation, you can skip the intermediate license stage.
Safe Driving Tips for Teens
While this is just one way that the state protects young drivers from reckless accidents, here are a few tips for safe driving:
- Wear your seatbelt - the state prohibits driving without one and getting a ticket for this violation can result in fines.
- No texting and driving - the state can fine you for this
- Don't speed - aside from avoiding tickets, driving at higher speeds when you're a beginner can make it harder to keep control of the vehicle.
Your Safety Comes First
If you or a loved one is a minor involved in a serious car accident and sustained injuries, our team is here to help you. Our Starkville injury attorneys are dedicated to getting you the compensation you need. Call (662) 269-6188 to discuss your case.